Maya’s Journey Back Home

Posted: April 30, 2017 in Life, Love, Past Experiences, tribute

“She is so beautiful,” I said.

“Take her then,” my uncle commented.

She was quite a beauty, she had these soulful brownish eyes that just lit up the entire room around her. She looked at me with such adoration, like she had loved me all her life. I fell in love with her almost immediately.

Little did I know that she would become a huge part of my life.

Preparing to leave my uncle’s place, I got into my car and started the engine. Was quite shocked when I heard the sound of my booth opening and in tow was my uncle with Maya in his hands.

As usual, my car was filled to the brim. It didn’t look like anything could fit in my car but uncle somehow found a way and there she was- this gorgeous eyed Husky seated beautifully in my car.

It was such a spur of the moment sort of decision, one thing led another and here I was with yet another dog in my car, looking at me adoringly.

Yes, Cuddles, my then 2-year old, mixed terrier was in the front seat, beautifully seated like a Queen, ready to go. She was rather troubled at the sight of another dog in the car- she wasn’t really known for her fondness of sharing her owner. I had been all hers for the last two years, she was practically attached to my hip.

Maya….. was a timid creature, she would jump at the slightest movement. Uncle had warned me that she might display such behavior. He had rescued her from a pet shop in Johor Bahru, barely a few weeks before. The pet shop had ill-treated her, as she was spayed and could not give birth-hence a no-no for breeding and not exactly a gold mine for the shop anymore.

Yet my first personal encounter with her was a tad scary. I was sitting down at the ledge of my front door so that she and I would be at eye level. As I looked closer into her eyes, suddenly she howled loudly for quite a while. I was quite startled and so was she, as she moved backwards like I was going to hit her.

This girl could really talk or should I say grumble.

It would be the the start of many other conversations I would have with Maya for next 9 years. She came along for the many car rides I would take from KL to Teluk Intan  to visit mum,  like her new-found sister Cuddles- [that ignores her almost all the time] she was a pro at traveling.  Not to mention the many moves, I would make over the course of the next four to five years from Sunway to Old Klang Road, Old Klang Road to Subang and then to Seri Kembangan.

Maya was a hyper active, noisy character and after living with me for a while, her past mannerism remained but only a past memory. You could never trace back that timid dog you would have seen years back.

Here was this gorgeous eyed Husky, standing tall, running around actively, always ready for a hug. Whether you wanted it or not, she would nudge you from behind until you paid her the attention she deserved.  If not for her battle with Mites, a horrible skin disease called Demodectic mange that came and went every 6 months or so, – she was a picture of health.

Unfortunately, her Demodectic mange became worse and she needed more constant attention after staying with me for a few years. I was working with the hotel then and often came back at 11.30pm almost every night. Even when I switched back to education, the hours had not changed very much and I often returned late- barely having any time for my doggies, as I rushed through peak hour traffic from Kuala Lumpur city. The daily treatments of oil and yellow powder at late hours of the night and trips to the vet for her Demodex jabs was not cutting it. She needed more frequent treatments and more attention.It took me almost a year to admit that I needed help .

With a heavy heart and gentle persuasion from my then-boyfriend, I said goodbye to Maya.  One weekend, I headed back to Teluk Intan, but this time around Maya didn’t return home with me to KL.  It was one of the hardest decisions I ever made- but deep down,  I knew my mum would be the best care-giver for this beautiful soul.

 

Over the last 2 years, I saw Maya grow more beautiful, as mum groomed her and was in turn- showered with Maya’s infectious dose of love. People often say that my mum’s dogs are treated better than humans.- so it was no surprise that she continued to bloom.

Maya was the queen back home, she had mangoes and apples in the mornings besides her daily bread intake for breakfast. Not to mention, amazing company with then-Scooter, Brandy, Tiny [all who have gone to doggie Heaven] and Simba. Even my dad,  didn’t scare her one bit-  a man feared by all the other dogs. She on the other hand, would just do as she liked, howling and walking about like a boss. My dad in turn would have conversations with her, just like I did.

Last weekend, the husband and I took a trip back home. Sadly, Maya had taken a turn for the worst after a day or two.  In the five days we were there, she had barely eaten. She spent most of her time laying down at the back of the house, dug holes and sat in them, but mostly she would put her feet in water and stand in it. We could not figure out what was wrong with her, Maya would never miss out on food. But here I was, feeding her 100 plus  and chicken soup with a syringe.

I was hoping she had gotten better when I returned to KL  last Monday, but yesterday my mum said that things were still not looking too good. She was not eating and test results had shown that her kidneys were failing. I thought she would be recover, she was so young and it was Maya. She had such a fighting spirit, if anyone loved life it was her! But I was sadly mistaken.

At around 3.30pm today, while I was invigilating, I received a very sad text informing me that Maya had gone to the Lord. It was hard not to react, to not cry, but here I was in front of 35 students in an exam hall. In between quiet sobs, hidden tear drops and bathroom trips to conceal my emotions, I managed to make it through 2 hours of invigilation.

Sitting here today, fitting back tears that continue to well up, I know it was your time.

I’m blessed to have been loved by such an adoring and loving creature. Maya, the husky, who stole my heart, always nudging me with her nose for attention.

You are finally home my love, rest in the abode of your loving father.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment