Brakes Pads, Life and Value None Which Matters to High Stage Marketing [Perodua TIntan)

Posted: July 7, 2012 in Discrimination, Justice, Life, Malaysia, Unethical

-An Entry on HighStage Marketing Perodua Service Centre In Teluk Intan- Unethical Behavior

On the 4th of July 2012, I drove back to Teluk Intan from my home in Kuala Lumpur, I felt something was not right with my brakes as it made some sounds (this was not the first time I have heard those sounds). The first time I heard them was basically right after Perodua Service Centre in Teluk Intan claimed to have changed my brake pads to new ones.  I did come back to the centre and there was no more noise at that point of time. But from time to time after that I kept hearing these noises, I even called the centre and mentioned this over the phone.  On the 5th of July 2012, I used the car around town and there was a loud screeching sound every time I used my brakes- I got very worried, the next day I went to the service centre.

I was informed that my brake pads was completely used and needed to be changed. I had already changed my brake pads when my car hit the mileage of 31,000km in September last year and found it very strange that my brake pads could wear out so fast. I told them it was impossible for such a thing to occur unless they had not changed my brake pads during that service.  My mileage is currently only 44,000km.

Upon checking, it was certain that the pads were definitely not one that had been changed-they had basically just cleaned it and ensured it did not make noise despite charging me for new brake pads. I was rather annoyed but was just glad that I had found out and something could be done.

I was advised to change it and agreed but I told them I would not pay for it again. They said they would change the brake pads for me nevertheless. The service advisor [Mr.  Liew Sei Lek   ] came by the service area, looked at the pads and disappeared-he did not say a word to me which I found was very rude. When I returned to the counter, the lady [Ms.  Vindra ] informed me that they would changed new brake pads for me. I was quite delighted about the news.

For some reason I felt uncomfortable and went back to the service area. I saw a used brake pad near my car and asked the mechanic if that was the brake pad to be fixed for my car, he nodded and said he was told to fix that. I commented that it was not new, he agreed.

I took the part and when to the spare part area/store and asked one of the ladies who was there concerning this, she said that was definitely not new- it was a display piece [I found it funny that a display piece was used- I wonder if their display cars are also second-hand?]

She said she would find out went back into the office and apparently was unhappy because I was causing trouble. At that point, I was pretty pissed that I was treated in such a manner- just because I was an Indian women on my own. I might not be a genius when it comes to cars but I’m nobody’s fool.

The service advisor re-appeared and told me it was courtesy for them to even consider changing my brake pads because it was not their fault and brake pads had no warranty. He also told me that brake pads only last about 30,000 km in terms of mileage, and mine had about 17,000 left. He also said that it must be the way I pressed on my brakes- that was the only reason it was worn out. I reverted by telling him this was not my first car and I knew better. He said what he could do instead is put back this old pads and ensure there was no noise.  I insisted he changed it and walked back to my car.

Moments later he came back to me after seeing me make a few phone calls with a different story altogether. There was also a Malay guy- named Yasir from Perodua HQ who was there, he insisted that the service advisor was doing me a big favour. It wasn’t his fault, he could not monitor everything- even if one of his staff did not actually change the brake pads he would not know. They had no service of who did what to whose car and since it was so long ago, it would be impossible to track [I do know for a fact that there is a customer history and I knew that a Chinese guy-the mechanic named Mr.Ho serviced my car during the break pad change- he has since resigned]. He was not always there to monitor, he could not be on top of everything- he insisted over and over again it was not his fault and that’s why customer feedback like mine was essential. He said out of courtesy he would change new pads for me [something he promised much earlier of course before I found him giving me old parts instead]

Through an inside source, I have reason to believe this is not an isolated incident. This is not the first time they have cheated people of parts or their service. It’s not just about buying something or replacing something, we are talking about lives. Faulty or non-functioning brake pads can cause lost lives, it is no joking matter. God knows how many accidents on the roads can be contributed to service centres like this.

I have been visiting this centre since I bought my car in 2009, I wonder what else I have missed or was not aware of- I’m deeply disappointed and worse still I feel very afraid for those people who have no voice-people who have no idea they are being cheated constantly. Being a small town like Teluk Intan, I never expected this would occur-small town people belief but it did and I will never return to this centre. I urged you to share this matter with everyone you know to push for an investigation to be made on this centre. If you have any information or share similar experiences with this centre please leave a comment here and contact me.

A copy of this will be sent to a couple of organization namely

PERODUA HQ,

PERODUA SERVICE CENTRE TELUK INTAN

CONSUMER ASSOCIATION

for now…

Comments
  1. raven1955 says:

    This centre is not user friendly, and the people in charge are very arrogant and rude. I wouldn’t go there.

Leave a Reply

