Would You Turn a Blind Eye?

Posted: February 23, 2012 in Changes, Coppers, Past Experiences, Personal ramblings, Real Life Drama, Society
Tags: , , , ,

Gurney Drive.

An area that holds lot of memories for most Penangnites and heart-core supporters of this lovely little island šŸ™‚ Like myself. After being away from Penang for the last 5 months, it is always loved to be welcomed home with open arms.

So sitting down and lamenting on how peaceful it was, I felt at home. It had been a long time since I even considered wanting to return to Penang be it to visit or to stay for good. But today, I felt like I did many years before. So I sat there, with my mother and a close friend we saw many antics.

It started off very quiet and after a session of taking pictures of each other- typical Penang rookie behavior (born-again Penangnite?:P), we were pulled away by a sound of something falling. Turning back I saw this young adults or perhaps teenager possibly around 18 or a little older stuck in the mud, most of his leg was deep in the mud. Curious, we all watched as his friends video-taped the whole incident and as he successfully removed his shoe from the thick mud trap. His friends giggled and I thought it was a little mean, the poor dude was drenched in mud- but heck everyone had fun and he was a good sport.. Was just thinking to myself, how lovely to hear the sound of happiness through their laughter.

Swept away by my surroundings and just being in the island, I was in a world of my own until of course some commotion broke my concentration off and I say a bunch of guys, particularly this guy with long hair hitting this guy with a helmet, as his girlfriend used her body to shield him from the attacks. From their body language it was obvious they not only knew each other, but they did not intend to hurt the girl but do some serious damage to the guy.

As blows and blows went to his head, I sprung up from my seat in shock and screamed at them to stop. They looked at me for a while and stopped then they continued to do so. My mum and friend called me to move away from the scene this resulted in my first 911 call to report an incident. Hardly making any sense, hence why it took so long…I gave them descriptions of the incident and reported it. Less than 5 minutes later, the police were on the scene (KUDOS to the cops, I was so proud of them).

By then the young men who were hitting this guy was already in hiding. I saw one of them get into a Waja, Silver but later one the guy seemed to have walked out of the car and hid elsewhere. I managed to give as much details I had by chasing after one of the cops who were on the other side of the road.

After a short period of time, a bunch of guys were in a car were stopped, I identified that it was possibly the same guys earlier but could hardly see from my car. But they had definitely checked out the tip I gave them and the girl who was shielding her boyfriend was present. I have no idea what happened after that.

One thing I do know was I felt quite pissed off, in fact embarrassed with Malaysians. Here, there was a bunch of guy mercilessly hitting this boy with helmets and instead of stopping to help or chase this guys away people started to disperse and move away. Thankfully, a guy and his girlfriend together with another few random guys decided to take matters into their own hands(which I was totally impressed and respect them for..) and walked fast towards this morons. Seeing them coming towards them really fast, they begun to disappear.

The question here is would you turn a blind eye if this would have happened to you? How would you have reacted?
Would you have said anything?Screamed? Shout? Call the cops…pretend you did not see anything, not get involved..etc?
What would you do? I couldn’t…

Leave a Reply

