Shoot first, prove later: The Malaysian Copper’s Motto?

Posted: December 13, 2010 in Coppers, human rights, Justice, Malaysia, Society

Apparently, this seems to be the procedure when dealing with cases of which, the PDRM has doubts. Of late, there has been more than one case of which civilians have been shot (some accidentally apparently) for no valid reason.  One of the most recent cases which has annoyed quite a number of Malaysian, is the news of the “Noodle Seller Shot by Plain Cloth Police Officers”>that was recently reported, and <“Aminulrasyid Shot Dead”>

According to Malaysiakini, Ho Chei Hang was shot by plainclothes policeman while he was driving. There was no warning shots nor any identification that these were indeed police officers, doing their so call duty. Mr.Ho has since sent a memorandum to SUHAKAM, ,to demand that the trigger happy police are investigated and that the issue does not fall on deaf ears. A trial is on-going regarding the Aminulrasyid case while Mr.Ho case is being investigated by SUHAKAM on the grounds of human rights. The PDRM on the other hand is treating this case (Mr.Ho) as attempted murder and drug possession.

There seems to be a pattern in all these cases, firstly the police officers shot at the alleged cars after receiving tips of the said offense but neither officers on both cases had any prove that this men/child were armed to begin with… Isn’t it a rule that officers cannot fire at their own will without solid evidence ? Will have to check on that…

Yesterday it’s a high school kid, today it is a noodle seller, tomorrow will it be you or me?

Now if you riding or driving on the roads and probably have been identified to have the same color car or model as a suspected criminal, are you in danger of being killed?
Will you end up in the pool of your own blood?

If you do not stop, for fear of being mugged or killed, will you be shot down? If anyone would stop me at the wee hours of the morning, even the police, I would not stop (unless it is a block and you can see that it is official that is!)!

How am I to know that this plain-cloth police are truly police? Should I take the risk and get mugged, raped or others?

Anyway, with all this cases constantly occurring, my trust-0-meter for the police keeps decreasing. As it is I hardly ever go to the police station for anything!

Recently, I visited the Sunway police station to report an incidence whereby some men came to my house with parangs and harassed me, threatening to kill my dog and asking me to leave the vicinity within a month- I was scolded by the inspector there because he said that since the issue was already settled(the police came to the house the night before and both parties talked) he assumed that I should not waste his time).

If I were to be killed, what prove would  I have? So you tell me now, why would anyone trust in the PDRM?

Do not get me wrong, I’m not saying that there are no good cops but I’m saying that the image of the PDRM is being tarnished due to its reckless, non-caring, could not be bothered attitude in general that is showcased repeatedly through not one, but many cases that have been re-occurring.

The question here is what is being done about this trigger happy cops?
What is being done with the officers who scold you for reporting an incident?
What is being done with officers that plant evidence on unsuspecting civilians?
Where have all the good cops gone? Why are we advocating a shoot first prove later policy?


Why why why!

So many questions that remain unanswered.

Before I end, I’ll like to assert that I love this country but I’m not about to sit here and watch people dying due to the recklessness and tidak-peduli attitude of some of our coppers.

I just want to feel safe again. Don’t you ?

Leave a Reply

