Facebook: Blurring the Lines Between the Personal and Professional Life?

Posted: March 3, 2010 in Freedom of Expression

Reading an article today on invasion of privacy yet again in regards to Facebook, just reconfirms my initial fear of the capabilities or features of facebook that lends certain information (not one you might like being viewed by specific audiences) to open view.

It basically tells the story of a college professor that was put under scrunity because of some status updates that involved her saying statements such as “Had a good day today, didn’t want to kill my students today”.

As an educator myself, I can symphatize and even relate with such statements, at times I feel like killing my students(here again not literally but students can annoy you to an extend you feel so angry and annoyed). I feel everyone of us has those statements blurted out of our mouths off and on, not in a professional context of course. But if you can’t say as you feel on your own Facebook account for example without worrying what a student is going to think or say….especially if the said person is not even supposed to be able to view your account. In this particular case, the professor tried to keep her personal and professional life apart, she ignored request from her students for this very reason yet still students were able to access her account. So again the question comes up, how safe is social media, really? This is not the first time such an issue has been brought up, especially if talking about Facebook. I mean its great that in Facebook you can connect with students and take your relationship further but not everyone wants that. I want to be able to have my own personal life without it being on a microscope or having the place I work in judge what I do. I work 9-5pm, what I do after that should be of no concern to the organization. With facebook, working life and personal life seems to have collided and caused a lot of drama.

With such greatness (Facebook), comes many loopholes often missed. Mr.CEO what are you going to do about it? Some might say get off Facebook but I’m sure that’s not the best solution ..I’m sure Mr.CEO will get something done..soon enough..

* Oh ya, you can read the link here; http://www.usatoday.com/news/education/2010-03-02-facebook-professors_N.htm

Leave a Reply

