Jeff Ooi=Confirmed DAP Politician= Y?He has his say….

Posted: July 31, 2007 in Freedom of Speech

According to<“MageP’Lab”>,Jeff Ooi has got himself a new blog altogether. Will he still update his old blog, the very influential <“Screenshots”>, it is yet to be known? Screenshots last post was “First They Came” and remains as such since July 30th when he indirectly told the blogosphere about joining DAP when he said that “he was making a stand for thinking Malaysians.” Earlier post also pushed towards that direction when he hinted by asking blogger <“you think I have a cause to join them”> much earlier and later striked it out!

Well that’s definitely old news now! His <“new political blog”>of course has Jeff4 Malaysia, something that creeped up on Screenshots after the hints were provided by Jeff himself. His new political blog I belief will be his platform for making a stand as a politician, visit <“Jeff4 Malaysia”> for a peek at Jeff’s new political blog!

So why such a bold move???

Why to active politics, why to DAP?

Jeff says,”It’s a long and meandering road. Here’s why;

Starting off his speech as a politician yesterday, he used a Malay proverb ” Beratnya mata memandang. Berat lagi bahu memikul.”

Excerpt from his first speech;

“TODAY, on the eve of the month we celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Merdeka, I am making a political stand by joining the Democratic Action Party (DAP).Looking back at our last 50 years as an independent country, if Malaysia had been a great nation, we should make it greater in the next fifty.As a Malaysian, as a parent for a school-going child, and as an advocate of New Media who blogs, monitors, and analyses the trends in digital governance and global competitiveness, I have grave concerns for Malaysia.It is my wish, in the years to come, to participate in the legislative process of Parliamentary Democracy in Malaysia, to share my ideas and to collectively contribute towards making Malaysia a greater country. I hope you, too, will join our clarion call for MALAYSIAN FIRST through DAP.”

Through his speech he outlined his views, hopes and dreams for the country referring to a call for MALAYSIAN FIRST. Below is the issues that he boldly outlined in his speech which I belief is his stand as a blogger first then politician.

a. Think “MALAYSIAN FIRST”

b. Foster Real Racial Integration

c. Give Us Good Governance

d. Wake up to Knowledge Based Economy

e. Overhaul Education System

f. Uphold Democracy

g. Equitable distribution of public wealth

h. Enrich the Joe Public

As Jeff callsto “Walk with us!” I say I’ll echo Rocky Bru and say

“I will walk with Jeff Ooi whichever road he takes for I believe that any road he takes will lead to a more matured Malaysia, insyallah.” – <“Rocky Bru”>

But as the same time my feelings for politics in general..politicians haven’t changed much… I belief that Malaysia is to change needs to change but whether it can happen through the same device that is so awfully corrupted I do not know. The system is so corrupted with money politics, fake votes? etc my faith for the system is weak.

Jeff is willing to try to change things despite the odds thus I will support him in his course for a better Malaysia(kind of contradictory eh?) Will I vote? I have never voted before honestly because I belief it’s no point as its a fake system, should I change my mind now? Well, its left to be seen. But I sure as hell do not belief in the government system of governance.

Anyway there is an updated version of <“Malaysiakini’s post on Jeff Ooi””> and it also has a video posting so do check it out for more insight into the JEFF OOI DAP Man!

UPDATED: Malaysiakini: Get your hands dirty: DAP to bloggers

UPDATED:  IN MALAYSIAkINI<“VIDEO ON JEFF OOI IN Malaysiakini”>

Leave a Reply

